[News] : 2016 Etisalat Prize for Lit… and the winner is!

Since its presentation in 2013, when the media transmission mammoth, Etisalat Nigeria, founded the Etisalat Prize for Literature to reward first time composition fiction (novel) works and its distributer, no Nigeria creator has won the prize, however, this time, the drift appears to be clear for the development of a Nigeria as the victor for the desired prize. This depends on the way that two Nigerians were among the three shortlisted creators reported for the 2016 version of its skillet African leader artistic prize, the Etisalat Prize for Literature, the third is a South African. The three shortlisted books are Jowhor Ile (Nigeria) And After Many Days (Kachifo Limited, Nigeria), Jacqui L’Ange (South Africa) The Seed Thief (Umuzi Publishers, South Africa); and Julie Iromuanya (Nigeria) Mr. and Mrs. Doctor (Coffee House Press, USA). From the look of things, if the champ will be settled on focuses, Nigeria’s two contenders may pull their focuses together and rise as the victor, however that is not to be, somewhat it will be based on year’s Chair of Judges, Helon Habila statement that “notwithstanding innovation of voice and abstract greatness, our motivation was to likewise choose a work that depicts an “African sensibility”. Be that as it may, nevertheless, the two Nigerians are as of now fortunate champs and if the South African did not raise an astonishment, Nigerians will surprisingly commend their own as the 2016 victor of the pined for the prize. The champ for the 2016 Etisalat Prize for Literature will be uncovered at the Grand Finale in Lagos, planned to happen in March 2017. The victor of the Prize gets £15,000, an engraved Montblanc Meisterstück pen, an Etisalat supported book visit to three African nations also an Etisalat-supported partnership at the University of East Anglia, coached by Professor Giles Foden, writer of The Last King of Scotland. Likewise, all the shortlisted authors will likewise appreciate a supported multi-city book visit while Etisalat will likewise buy 1,000 duplicates of their books for conveyance to schools, libraries and book clubs crosswise over Africa with the target of advancing the perusing society and the distributing business on the loose. The writers were shortlisted after a longlist of 9 names, six South African and three Nigerians by a three-part judging board containing Nigerian writer and artist, Helon Habila (seat of judges and writer of Measuring Time, Oil on Water and Chibok Girls), South African author and extremist, Elinor Sisulu, and Ivorian essayist and “Africa39” laureate, Edwige Renée Dro. The victor of the prize will be reported in the coming weeks at an honor service to be held in Lagos. Remarking on the achievement of the 2016 Etisalat Prize for Literature, Chief Executive Officer, Etisalat Nigeria, Matthew Willsher, praised the judges for their industriousness in selecting the main three books out of the many titles that were gotten taking after the call for passage. He stated, “This is in no way, shape or forms a straightforward errand. The part of the judges is very huge and we need to express gratitude toward them for the consideration and devotion to the whole audit handle which birthed the main three finalists”. Willsher repeated Etisalat’s dedication to constantly affecting the lives of Nigerians and in fact Africans by offering them inventive items and administrations and all the more significantly a stage that empowers them to express their enthusiasm and innovativeness. Including that Sarah Ladipo Manyika will join other prestigious abstract identities as a supporter of the prize. The Etisalat Prize for Literature is the primary container African Prize that praises make a big appearance African scholars of distributed book-length fiction. It is open exclusively to presentation fiction authors from African nations inhabitant anyplace on the planet. Presently in its fourth year, it is recognized as the most prestigious scholarly prize for African fiction. The Etisalat Prize for Literature likewise consolidates an honor for Flash Fiction, which is an online-based rivalry for non-distributed African essayists of short stories. Fiston Mwanza Mujila from the Democratic Republic of Congo won with Tram 83 in 2015, South African author Songeziwe Mahlangu won with Penumbra in 2014 and Zimbabwean essayist NoViolet Bulawayo was the first victory with We Need New Names in 2013.

You Need To Promote Your Music, Video, Products, or Any Promotional Biz, Feel Free To Contact CEO IJEBULOADED via +2348132090729 ( Call & Whatsapp) Or Mail us at Info@Ijebuloaded.com or Ijebuloadedng@gmail.com

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.